ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 4:40 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:45 pm 
n00b
n00b

I could use a little help in designing a good eating schedule and diet. I've been lifting for a couple of months (after a break of 6 months) and have come up to a hurdle.

My job requires me to be on my feet 8 hours a day and is pretty physical - so, I burn my share of calories at work. It's also difficult for me to stop and eat small meals (I'm lucky to get in a lunch break sometimes). I try to snack on high protein things (nuts and Odwalla protein bars), but it's almost impossible to get enough calories in given my job requirements.

I'm wondering if anyone else has a similar situation and how you go about getting enough good calories and protein. I can't seem to gain in body weight or muscle mass because of my limited diet.

Any suggestions?

TIA

Ted

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:08 am 

Make you a couple of shakes with oatmeal (in a blender) before you leave for work. It takes all of a minute to drink a shake. Throw in a tblspoon of olive oil. Eat some peanuts or almonds. Beef jerky - the good kind. It is very low fat and is high in protein. Protein bars are a mainstay of mine.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:35 am 
n00b
n00b

Thanks for the reply, hoosegow.

Yeah, I keep meaning to throw some flax oil in my morning shake (with protein powder) - I've got to get on the ball with that one.

Beef jerky, huh? I'd always thought it was too salty and fatty. I'll have to check the ingredients next time I'm in the store.

As for protein bars - what do you eat and recommend? I usually munch on a protien (19g) Odwalla bar, but is there something out there with more protein?

Ted

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:25 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin