ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 5:27 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Getting enough Fat
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:48 am 

So, I have recently decided to try and cut out dairy products like milk, natural yogurt, cheese etc from my diet on the advice of my doctor.

The last few days, my diet has been about 25% protein, 25% fat and 50% carbs. But only at 2800 Kcal (which is probably not enough for me). (about 180g protein.

The problem is that I am quite poor, I am a phd student and my weekly food budget is about 50 euros (2 chicken breasts costs 5euros, can of tuna 1euro, 1ltr milk 1euro), and is about adequate to eat about 180g of protein and most of the carbs comming from veggies.

Does anyone have any good suggestions for getting that fat level up. Nuts are quite expensive (2-3euros for 200g) and I just can't afford to supliment my diet with lots of nuts.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:22 am 
In Memoriam: TimD

I don't know how much olive oil costs where you are, but a little goes a long way. Drizzle your meat and veg w/ some after cooking.
I do it all the time, mainly for taste. Olive oil and herbs seem to perk up even the most mundane veg.
Tim

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:42 am 
Deific Wizard of Sagacity

Flax seed meal is fairly inexpensive. $4 per lb here. I add it to my oatmeal. It's a good source of good fat. You can check the baking or bulk sections of your stores for nuts. Sometimes walnuts are reasonably priced. If you can't find anything better, peanuts aren't bad but they have no Omega 3.

Canola oil has some good fats and is usually fairly cheap. It's not as good as olive oil but a lot cheaper.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canola#Health_effects

Avocados are good too.

There are 2 types of safflower oil. One high in monounsaturated fatty acid (oleic acid) and the other high in polyunsaturated fatty acid (linoleic acid). You want the former.