ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 3:09 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:37 pm 
n00b
n00b

Hi!

I'm a beginner at weight-lifting: I have been working out for 4 months now, and am definitely making improvements - am stronger (handle weights 2x to 3x more than what I started with), fitter (don't get out of breath as easily), and leaner (lost a couple of inches around the waist).

A key aspect of my motivation is to enjoy myself, and for me, this means understanding how things work - e.g. progressive resistance, muscle hypertrophy, fat loss, etc.

Unfortunately, a fair amount of information I find on the net tends to be mutually contradictory, and are often dogmatic pronunciations without really explaining why they are so. And, when some part of an article or publication contains dubious information, I have difficulty trusting the rest of it.

So, I have some "facts" collected from various places, together with my interpretation (which may be wrong - I am a beginner!), and hope the good folks here can help separate the truth from the myths:

1. On how your body uses fat / muscle
On Dr. Squat's Zigzag diet page (http://drsquat.com/articles/zigzag.html), recommended elsewhere on this forum, I found:
Quote:
There are 3500 calories in one pound of fat. That means that by reducing your food by 500 calories per day, you should lose one pound of fat per week, right?
WRONG!
Actually, much of the weight you'll lose will come from muscle tissue, NOT fat! Why? Because your body tends to use ("excess") muscle tissue for needed energy before it reclaims fat deposits.

As much as I have understood, fat storage is a strategy we (and other mammals and birds) have evolved for energy storage. So, I think its really odd then for our body to prefer to cannibalise muscle rather than tap into those fat reserves.