ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:13 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:31 pm 
former lurker

Hi guys, I'm a total newbie at this. I've been doing some exercises at the gym, and I find that my muscle firms up, but I'm getting fatter and fatter across the waist.

When I get up in the morning, I have about maybe 600 ml of Corn soup.
I have 6 pieces of california roll for lunch, and I usually eat a pack of microwave package noodles (600 cal) for dinner around 9:45pm. I sleep around 1am and get up around 7 am.

I usually do my cardio around 6:15 when I have my break at work.
I do about 300 cals on the machine, and some weight training-target most of my muscle groups until it's sore.

My food intake can't be more than 1200 cals in my estimation. My fat used to concentrate more on the chest area than waist (not necessarily a good thing, as I'm a guy) but what could've cause this fat proportion change? Now I have a whole bellyful of fat to get rid of, but I'm already doing a lot of exercises, and eating very little relatively.

My height is 5"5' and I am about 150 pounds currently.

Please help! Thank you!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:41 pm 

You're eating very little and what you do eat is starch. It's no wonder you're having trouble. You don't give your age but that has an impact on your body composition. You actually have to make an effort as you get older.

Read this thread: http://exrx.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4616

Read John Berardi's articles.

Here are the most important commandments:

Quote:
1. Eat every 2-3 hours, no matter what. You should eat between 5-8 meals per day.

2. Eat complete (containing all the essential amino acids), lean protein with each meal.

3. Eat fruits and/or vegetables with each food meal.

4. Ensure that your carbohydrate intake comes from fruits and vegetables. Exception: workout and post-workout drinks and meals.