ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:25 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 2:51 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

I'm new to the whole diet and nutrition thing. I had lost 50 pounds when I was a young teen and going through college now I've gained 40 pounds and just started getting really serious again about exercising/lifting.

I'm trying to do the 5 small meals a day but I just seem to be not eating at all because I feel it will just keep me at my same weight or gain weight, so I just eat maybe a fruit in the morning and another fruit for dinner and drink a little water in between. What's the best solution to help jump start this weight loss?? I almost expect results real quick and that's why I get frustrated with eating.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:13 pm 
In Memoriam: TimD

first off, read the stickies we putup, especially the one on nutritional guidelines which has a link to Berardi's 7 habits. It's broad, and general, so it's fairly easy to follow, and very effective. Ironmaiden has a sticky up there with some tips as well. If you have any further questions, ask. Scond, don't get overanxious about dropping it off real quickly , a lb or 2 a week is fine and realistic. Those kids on the "Biggest Loser" lost phenomenal amounts of fat i a very short period, but for the average person that has a job, school, kids and DOESN"T have a personal trainer and 12 hours a day to work out, it's unrealistic.
Tim

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:26 pm 
Novice
Novice

I went from about 225 to 165lbs four years ago and have maintained it. Thinking about how I got there I now see that while I achieved my goal of losing weight I did it in the wrong way which was basically the way you are trying to go about it, starving yourself. There are many ways to lose weight and I'm no expert but I will give you my two cents.