ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Questions about new diet
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:36 pm 
Novice
Novice

Started using a new diet from bodybuilding.com. Its a cutting diet aimed at taking in virtually no carbohydrates. He claims after 4-5 days your body will go into ketosis and start burning fat for energy rather than using carbs. Ive been doing this diet for about a week and my friend just told me without carbs post workout im going to lose muscle. Is this true? Would a carb based supplement such as dark matter fix this?

Diet is here: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=5899101

thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:14 pm 

I am no expert on the subject, but from what I've heard through various sources (including this forum) as long as you are consuming adequate protein with your high fat diet (which is pretty simple if you think about it), you'll make up for the ketosis on it. But make sure you're still eating plenty.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:38 pm 

You don't need the carb supplement. It could be detrimental at this stage. The author seems to be a little spooked about saturated fats. They may actually have benefits so don't worry about them. Don't bother with the extra egg whites, just eat whole eggs. Lean meat is not needed, just avoid processed meats. It's best to get a variety, chicken, pork, beef and fish. The author is right to emphasize omega 3 but as long as you minimize the omega 6, that's not a big deal.

In this article, the author is suggesting high protein and moderate fats. I generally recommend moderate protein and high fats. He may see a benefit in a cutting diet but this is not a long term healthy diet. Since he's promoting this as a cutting diet (contest prep?), not a general fitness diet, my recommendations may be out of line.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:06 pm 
Novice