ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:10 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Terry Fox & Cancer
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:31 pm 
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

As some of you might know, probably only stuward(cause were Canadian), Terry fox day is comming up.

Terry fox at 18, got cancer and ran across canada with one leg, very impressive.

I'm not a doctor but are not most cancers preventable? It just annoys me to see all this money to find a cure. When some should atleast be used to promote prevention of diseases instead.

There was this girl in my school who spoke to us about her cancer story.

Long story short, she got cancer, had treatment for it. A few surgeries, and defeated cancer. I asked myself how this young girl got cancer. She looked very unhealthy, obese and seeing the pictures of her with her family, who are also obese it was no surprise that she was diagnosed.
She said that before the surgeries she didnt eat anything, so her younger brother snuck in popsicles for her (crowd laughed). And when she got home from her treatment they celebrated by having a huge chocolate cake. I also saw some other cakes in the slide show.

I know most people don't know what healthy is but i'm sure everyone can agree that popsicles and chocolate cake does nothing good.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:11 pm 
Deific Wizard of Sagacity
Deific Wizard of Sagacity

there are ways you can reduce the risk, but just because something is preventable doesn't mean you won't get it. A girl i went to school with got cancer, which thankfully she was successfully treated for. She was not obese, she was in fact a very healthy active individual who did not smoke or drink to excess or really do anything that people are warned against, and she still got it. I on the other hand did not get cancer despite smoking heavily, drinking to excess, using drugs and eating a terrible diet.