ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:58 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Weight Loss Escapade
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:12 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Seriously hurt my back a few months before XMAS, picked up homebrewing as a hobby, got a new job that ends up making my day 15 hours of sitting down staring at a PC screen, and bloated right up to 240lbs @ 28% give or take a few after a few holiday-filled months of no exercise. BP is now off the charts, cholesterol off the charts, everything is out of whack. Doc says I have to get to it or he will want me on meds.

Two weeks ago put myself on a low(er) carb diet (50g/day), whole foods only. Consistency has been good. Having a hard time with familial buy-in and avoiding the weekend drinks (which of course hits the compliance). I did this in '07 and lost over 50 lbs. I'm hoping I can do the same and get down to a reasonable weight and healthy outlook.

This week I started lifting with a modified 5/3/1 schedule - I'll be starting LOW, skipping the squats entirely and adding lots of chins and chin-related pulls. I have a lot of posterior atrophy to resolve as a result of the injury and my lack of activity. Also have a lot of mobility and flexibility issues to work out. Squat used to be my favorite lift but I ALWAYS eventually end up hurt doing them and I'm sure it is my form but don't feel like tempting six months of pain if I mess up on it again.

I'm just looking for some support, I guess.

Post subject: Re: Weight Loss Escapade
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:11 pm 
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Sounds very good. 28% is not that bad, and neither is the weigth. With this plan and if you keep your mind into it, you will succeed without problems. Try to gain the most support from your family as well, they have to understand why you do the things you do.