Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:38 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:41 pm 
n00b
n00b

Hello Everyone,

To start I'll give some background

My name is Sean, I'm 25, I have a Bachelor's Degree in Geography and currently work as a cartographer. I like to take as scientific an approach as possible to pretty much everything I do in life and this forum has the smartest, most rational and scientific minded members of any resistance training site on the web by a wide margin.

I started resistance training the last week of august and at that time I was extremely unfit. (although there have been times in the past when i was well conditioned for long distance hiking). I was 225 lbs 5'10" and it was all fat. the first few weeks I did a very dumb split routine a friend showed me, when trying to check the forms for the different excersises as I was suspicious that his sucked I stumbled across this website. KenDowns' posts inspired to to try the stronglifts program so that's what i did.

On to the problem.

My squat form sucks. I've watched the videos stickied at the top of this forum as well as several others and I have an idea of what a squat is supposed to look and feel like. I've deloaded a few times to fix several form issues and now I only have one or two problems left but I just can't seem to fix them, even with the empty bar.

The problem is I absolutely cannot get 'heel drive' when i try the powerlifting squat nor can I get my center of gravity to stay between my heel and the balls of my feet on the bodybuilder squat. No matter what i do my weight shifts onto the balls of my feet and sometimes my toes. I also have a lot of trouble keeping my shins close to vertical for the powerlifting squat and getting below parralel without feeling like i'm going to fall backward.