ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:01 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Circuit Training program
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:40 am 
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Stay with me, this is a bit tricky. I was approached by my girlfriend who wants get a bit more back into shape. Since this is what I'm studying to become, I took it as a challenge. And yeah, it was a bit complicated.
The task was to design a training program to do at home, with bodyweight (and a medium rubber band), and it should target muscles you use in horse riding. Yeah, that's cool. About her, she's normal weight, average, a bit unknow fit, and has several years of riding background, but it's been on hiatus for a while now. My main goals here are to get some endurance and strength on the muscles needed, and to improve her cardio and mobility a bit.

Now, I figured the training should be divided into two workouts, plus later we introduce one other exercise. In this case the exercise is swimming, what I'd recommend her to do once or twice a week, we'll start with one per week. Since horse riding takes a lot of isometric work, I figured I'd put one workout day a week dedicated to isometric and static training. The other workoutset is also supposed to improve her endurance and cardio, so I thought intense circuit training would be good, especially when you think about our starting pointers. Circuit training is easy to target, you get exhausted and you get the strength training also. And it's quite simple to modify into bodyweight training.

Here are the workout sets:

Workout A:
- 15-30 reps per move, do six or seven different sets in a row. Then 1min - 1½min rest, and repeat the circuit. This will be done for a total of three to four rounds.

- Wide stance squat (Mainly targeting the adductors but also hamstrings, quads and glutes.)
- Lunges (Quads and hamstrings.)
- Calf raises
- Abs (I gave her many options here)