ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:38 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:07 am 
Apprentice
Apprentice

I'm loathed to ask these questions but I fear I must:

I'm 6 foot 2 and 90kg - I have a lot less fat around my waist than when I started training (properly - 16 months ago) and I know i could trim down further to improve the appearance of my waist but that isnt my goal at the moment. What has got me wondering, however, is the fact that my actual stomach protrudes and not just the fat. Is there any postural issue that could cause this?

One thing I have never really done is lots of Ab work - I do mostly compound lifts with accessories (Deadlift, Squat, Bench, Rows - lots of rows forming the backbone; my routine is based on 531 at the moment and is a 4 day split) and never seem to be able to fit them into my routine. I have done planks for several weeks in a row but they always seem to get ditched (I train in my lunch hour at work - my workout is around 50 mins and my walk to/from takes me to about an hour/hour and ten).

I sometimes think that I need to add some focus on my glutes for a few months but we dont have a GHR machine at the gym and I can't think of an exercise to replace this with?

Any ideas would be much appreciated guys/gals!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:15 am 

Yes there is a postural issue that can contribute to a protruding gut. It's called anterior pelvic tilt and it's very common. Jason linked to a Mike Robertson post on the subject. Basically, strong quads and lower back tilt the pelvis forward. Normally this is countered by equally strong abs and glutes. Looking sideways in the mirror, the waistband on your pants short be level with the ground.

Strength is the adaptation that leads to all other adaptations that you really care about - Charles Staley

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:35 am 
Deific Wizard of Sagacity