ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:47 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:40 pm 
Novice
Novice

The upright row gets a bad rap, but it seems to effect those that can't achieve proper scapular retraction. I've been doing them for 15 years, and I haven't had a problem. I also don't have internally rotated shoulders. What are your thoughts on this exercises? Anybody ever tried DB raises as a replacement? http://exrx.net/WeightExercises/Deltoid ... aises.html

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:56 pm 
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

I haven't heard a bad word in here. It's a solid part of my routine. Great exercise for upper traps, shoulders and biceps.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 4:52 pm 

Dub wrote:
I haven't heard a bad word in here.

You haven't been around very long!

Yeah, if you're OK with them, then you're OK. No reason to abandon them if you've done them trouble-free.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:07 pm 
Novice
Novice

I did those dumbbell raises for awhile. Now i do something very similar with a resistance band by standing on the middle of it and grabbing both ends. It's one of several resistance band exercises i do to warm up for shoulder presses. Lateral raises and upright rows exacerbate my shoulder issues, but doing the raises gives me no trouble. As an added bonus, i often laugh while doing them when i think about how goofy i must look pantomiming the act of repeatedly pulling up a pair of waders.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 6:03 pm 
In Memoriam: TimD
In Memoriam: TimD

My experience with upright rows are that as long as I don't get narrow, I have absolutely no shoulder problems with them. I have found that as long as I keep the grip width shoulder width and father out towards snatch grip, I'm good to go. Also, why not just do DB upright rows. They work fine.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 6:19 pm 
Deific Wizard of Sagacity