ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:58 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 1:50 pm 
Apprentice
Apprentice

Wow it's already been four years since I joined this forum. Four years ago, I weighed 128lbs and I started learning about squats, deadlifts, bent-over rows, bench press and other barbell exercises.

Today I weigh 145lb but have 18% body fat. I'm 50yrs old, 5ft 7in. My waist is 34in, hips 35in.

My regular routine is
treadmill 20min - 4mph (5min at 5mph jog) heartrate from 155 to 168bpm (trying to look for that magic setting to keep the heartrate at approx 135bpm)

Squat - 145 to 185lb 5 reps each
Deadlift - 185 to 235lb 5 reps each
Bench Press - 135 to 155lb 5 reps each (to failure)
I mix these up with lower weights and reps at 12 to 8.

and a bunch of other exercises with the dumbbells
rows
shoulder press

I took a fitness test at the gym and the trainer said my body must be bored doing squats and deadlifts for so long. So she tested me with a couple of balancing exercises
1) one-leg squat using cable to keep me stable;
2) lunges with cable row on the opposite arm

She said if I keep my body fed at snacktime, and do stability exercises, initially I'll gain some weight but eventually my brain will recognize not to store the fat.

So I've replaced my squats with barbell lunges today (no weights), replaced my bench press with dumbell presses and replaced my bent-over row with dumbell row without the bench. Got too tired to do deadlifts.

I recognize I've reached my wall, but I don't want to give up barbell exercises.
1)Can anybody recommend stability exercises;
2)what do you think of the trainer's diagnosis;
3)and how to convert my belly into muscle mass.

Thanks

Last edited by tostig on Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:31 pm