Is this a good idea or a bad idea?
Good 75%  75%  [ 3 ]
Bad 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
I don't care because I'm a mean fence sitter. 25%  25%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 4
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:39 am 
Rookie
Rookie

Background: I've been lifting off and on for the last ~18 years. The first few years were good and fairly consistent. Several years off... then back into it off and on. The last 10 years have been more off than on due to injuries, living in a remote location without facilities for a few years in the middle, and a chronic illness over the last few years. The illness has improved and I have been lifting consistently for the last 3-4 months. I feel like a novice as far as my body looks, but I have the lifts down pat since I've been doing them since I began.

Now I'm thinking of increasing my workouts to 4 days a week. I do the 2-day push/pull split and want to continue that one. I don't want to change my food intake but would like a little more weight loss. Cardio does not interest me as much as moving weights. I'm never in the gym more than an hour at a time.

Is this a good idea or a bad idea?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:46 am 
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

So why exactly do you want to increase volume? And how much were you planning to do it? Weight loss is a tricky thing. Best results come from great intensity, or very high volume resistance training, or high intensity running. And diet of course.

As for your novice looks, I would recommend intensity, but lets hear more from that beofre I draw conclusions.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:16 am 
Rookie
Rookie

Dub wrote:
So why exactly do you want to increase volume? And how much were you planning to do it? Weight loss is a tricky thing. Best results come from great intensity, or very high volume resistance training, or high intensity running. And diet of course.

As for your novice looks, I would recommend intensity, but lets hear more from that beofre I draw conclusions.