ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:32 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:00 pm 
n00b
n00b

Hi

I used to play rugby, but after I stopped playing I have not done any excercise.

Now it has been two years since I stopped excercising, I gained a lot of weight and my knees started to hurt when I walk. That was a huge red light for me. I have decided to start excercising again and maybe play rugby again, I am 38 now, so maybe I won't play again, but anyhow I want to lose some weight and gain some strenght and endurance.

I planned a workout based on the information given here, but I am by no means an expert and would like some input on it.

I am just able to use a barbell of 20 kg, that is, an olympic barbell, no weights, inside of a relatively small apartment, so no much room.

Here is the workout I do on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays:

Push Ups

Bent Knee Good Morning

Bent Over Row

Squats

Upright Row

Standing Calf Raises

Biceps Curls

Skull Crushers

Plank

I do 4 sets of each excercise, first 20 reps, then 15 and then 10, the last one I do as many as I can. My goal is to be able to do 100 reps of each excercise, non stop, and with minimum rest (about 1 minute) in between excercises to work as cardio also.

So in the end it would be 100 push ups, rest 1 minute, 100 good mornings, rest 1 minute, etc.

Right now I am taking it slow and rest as much as I have to, but plan to shorten the rests as my cardio improves.

Any ideas, suggestions and warnings are wellcome.

Thanks in advance.

Enrique

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:51 pm 
Veteren Member
Veteren Member

find a way to add weight / resistance
ditch the 100 rep goal

buy a pull up bar
add vertical press

your waisting time calf raising with 45 lbs, I hear.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:14 pm 
Advanced Member
Advanced Member