Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 4:20 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Strength vs size.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:06 am 
n00b
n00b

Hello!

I am new to this forum and have been slowly trying to absorb all the information contained at this site. I am very impressed by the constant need to back up claims by scientific fact rather than some persons opinion here at this site. Which for me is very important since I am basically a newb. and just keep getting more confused by the conflicting opinions. I am 34 years old and have been doing starting strength for a few months now ever since I could start lifting again after a wrist injury. I have seen gains for sure. Both in size and strength. But not much in my arms. Now I am focusing on learning about nutrition which confuses the hell out of me.

However one thing that has me confused here is after reading the low volume training article I am understanding that it does not really matter how many reps or sets you do just as long as you are increasing in weight continuously. I believe it is stated that strength is highly correlated to muscular size. However the question is asked how about gaining mass. Then the author goes into adding more reps and sets. in order to gain "hypertrophy", which still confuses the hell out of me. So which is it? I would like to gain mass as I am pretty small. So I want to gain strength of course, but at this point mass is what I want most.

By the way I have frequented bodybuilding . com website and have been very reluctant to post any questions because of how rude the participants are there. They seem to be more interested in flexing their "broscience" brains than actually helping people out. But I have been reading some posts here and the people here seem to be genuinely interested in helping people out. I have to give props to you all for the friendly environment.

Post subject: Re: Strength vs size.