ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:29 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:54 pm 

I am a safety manager. From time to time I use graphic photos of injuries to drive home the point that certain tasks are dangerous or fatal. I am not a fan of it, but it can be effective. There seems to be three reactions - enjoyment, horrified, or accepting. The people who "accept" the picture never really have a comment one way or another. The other two is where I get the most feedback from.

This is just a casual observation. I understand everything but the enjoyment reaction. The people who react positively are not sociopaths, cruel or mentally deranged in any way. I imagine these people are the same that enjoy Faces of Death and slasher films. It is widespread enough (you can even get into the sport fighting of animals catagory) that it is not considered taboo. I am not against bull-fighting, dog fighting, cock-fighting, slasher films or anything like that. I just don't understand the entertainment value. Conversely and perhaps hypocritically, I do enjoy MMA. I'd like to say the "sport" is entertaining and not the "brutality."

I don't know why I bring this up. Carry on.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:00 pm 
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Is merely the task "dangerous or fatal", or does the photo actually depict a fatality? I can see laughing at stupid injuries if they're non-fatal.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:57 pm 

Mashed hands, amputations, horrible fatalities. Here is a perfect example. We have large material handlers. They are basically large track exscavaders with grapples on the end. They have large blind areas. I sent out a picture showing a guy being run over by one. The head was crush and internal organs were popped out. I sent it due to we still have people who will get in the way of them without thinking of the consequences.