ExRx.net

Exercise Prescription on the Net
It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 8:44 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:58 pm 

HMMM, It appears as though, the Full Body vs Split Routines are the topic of the week, so I will ask my questions also. :lol:

First, the Background info....
Overall, I'm a Newbie to weight training, however, I have been training now for about 5 months or so, and on my Better Eating Diet for about 4 months or so.

Goals: Get back into shape, Increase Muscle, Lose Fat
BF%: +/- 21% in June (Haven't checked since then)
Weight: 162-167 (varies based on food intake)
Caloric intake: ~2000 Calories or less (maintenance ~2500)
Strength: Weak, but getting stronger.

My Current Routine is a 3 day Push/Pull Split.
Day 1: Push
Incline Press (Machine) 4-sets
20-15-12-10Reps

Seated Flies (Machine) 4-sets
20-15-12-10
OR
Flat Chest Press (Machine) 4-sets
20-15-12-10

Dumbbell Overhead Press 4-sets Edited not a Chest Press
20-12-11-10

Standing Side Lateral Raises 4-sets
20-16-15-14

Tricep Pushdowns 4-sets
20-16-15-14

Bench Dips 4-sets
20-14-12-10
Superset with Seated Chest Dips 4-sets
8-8-8-8

Day 2 Pull:
Close or Wide Grip Pulldowns (Alternating weekly) 4-sets
20-15-12-10

1-arm dumbbell Row 4-sets
20-15-12-10

Bicep Barbell Curl 4-sets
15-12-11-10

Standing Cable Curl 4-sets
15-12-11-10

Day 3 Legs:
Squats (Just started these a couple of weeks ago) 4-sets
8-10 reps

Hyperextensions 4-sets
15reps

Calf raises 4-sets (Alternate weekly seated vs standing)
20-16-14-12

As you can see, this is a high volume workout and is performed with short rest periods usually no more than 60seconds, with exception to Leg Day where rest periods usually last 1.5-2min (still Short). Also, I throw in some Cardio (not enough) and Extra Ab Work