Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, jethrof, stuward, parth

Wouter
Associate Member
Associate Member

very weak

Post by Wouter » Mon May 14, 2007 12:31 pm

Hello, I've got a question once again.
At T-nation, there's an article about strenght standards(http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=1563264).
I've been training for 9 months and I've made some improvement, but I'm still weak. Even though I basically had no muscle at the beginning of my training, I haven't made much improvement.
Now I was wondering since this chart is made up for adults, does this also apply to teenagers?

I'm going to give some numbres as a comparison:
I'm 172 lbs, I deadlift 132 lbs 10 times, I can do 22 pistols, my military press (al the way down) is 71 lbs 7 times, I can do 110 lbs bent-over rows (9 times).
I haven't got dipping bars, so I can't test that, I can do 20 push-ups or something like it, I can do 4 chins.
My arm strenght is less weak: I can take 62 lbs on a EZ-curl for 10 times and 57 lbs on the skullcrusher for 7 times.
The weakest exercise is the bench press: I can only bench 88 lbs for 7 times. I can take 88 lbs for 13 times on a close-grip bench.

My question is: have I got 'normal' strenght for my age (almost 17 yrs old) and will it increase more rapidly after some time?

Halfbreed
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by Halfbreed » Mon May 14, 2007 12:55 pm

Part of the problem, Wouter, is that it sounds like you are lifting with too many repetitions. If you have been lifting long enough to get accustomed to the weights, and to learn your form, start lifting heavier. Do sets that you can handle from 4-6 reps at, and try pyramiding. Establish a one rep max, and then work from percentages. E.g. start with like 85% of your one rep max for the first set, and lift until failure, then 90% your second set until failure, then 95% your final set until failure.