Not gaining weight?

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward, jethrof

Stuart510
n00b
n00b

Not gaining weight?

Post by Stuart510 » Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:23 am

Hi, im new to the forums but I have been using the site for info on weight lifting etc.

At 18 I've been lifting weights for about 4 months now and although I was naturally built before (teenage life - pushups, phys ed, sport etc) I have made quite obvious improvements. Before starting I was at about 9.5% body fat and recently I am now about 9%. However I started out at about 70kg (@ 179cm or ~5'10") give or take a few kgs and I'm about 71kg now, give or take. (my biceps have gone from 34cm to 38cm - only thing I bothered to measure before starting). The weights I lift have also increased significantly, went from about 55kg (4 sets of 10 ) on bench press to 90kg (2 sets of 10, 2 of 6,7 or 8) and similar weight increases for other muscles.

My diet is quite healthy, no fizzy drinks, cordial, junk food of any kind, and I eat big meals eg 3 or 4 hamburgers for dinner for example.
Also I run 4kms about 3 or 4 times a week and afterwards sprint 100m as my routine. Anyone have any idea why I'm not noticing more of a body weight increase?

Thanks in advance.

Stephen Johnson
Exalted Seer
Exalted Seer

Post by Stephen Johnson » Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:46 am

At age 18 you have a fast metabolism - the calories that you consume aren't just being used for basic bodily functions and physical activity, but also for growth. Don't worry - once you stop growing, your metabolism will slow.