about dip belts...

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward, jethrof

Post Reply
tyler
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:24 pm

about dip belts...

Post by tyler » Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:26 pm

How much weight do they usually hold? I don't want to snap one at the gym i just got a membership too.


User avatar
stuward
moderator
moderator
Posts: 6650
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:44 pm
Location: Halifax, NS

Post by stuward » Thu Sep 20, 2007 7:24 pm

I've never heard of one breaking. People have done dips with several hundred pounds.

pdellorto
Deific Wizard of Sagacity
Deific Wizard of Sagacity
Posts: 5252
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:43 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by pdellorto » Thu Sep 20, 2007 7:26 pm

Depends on the belt. I use an Ironmind De Rigueuer dipping belt:

http://www6.mailordercentral.com/ironmi ... umber=1310

They say it'll hold 1000 pounds...

I know I'll never need to dip that much, but their stuff is really well-made, and I figured I'd be better off buying a great belt and never worrying than save a few bucks. But I'm sure there are other belt makers who can provide you one that won't snap under heavy loads.

Hope that helps,

Peter

tyler
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:24 pm

Post by tyler » Thu Sep 20, 2007 7:40 pm

Hmm...probably. Right now I am at 65 lbs with dips...guess I'll be good for awhile.

User avatar
TimD
In Memoriam: TimD
In Memoriam: TimD
Posts: 3129
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:04 am
Location: Va Beach, Va

Post by TimD » Thu Sep 20, 2007 9:07 pm

Tyler, most dip belts I've seen at commercial gyms are made of tough leathe (as in a weight lifting belt} along with a heavy link chain. If you are using 65 lbs currently, I'd say don't woory about it. At home, I just use my dog's leash, which is a medium weight chain, and I've used up to 100 lbs with it and have had no problems. That crazy pit bull I have has been tied off with it (he weighs a good 70 lbs) and even with a running start (which I discourage and will never let happen again) can't budge it. Don't woory about it.
Tim


User avatar
Ironman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3992
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:40 am

Post by Ironman » Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:51 am

I just use a regular belt, a big one for fatties. It's too big to hold up my pants so I have to do something with it. I've used up to 30 lbs for dips, which is a lot when combined with 210 to 215 lbs of me. I've used 60 lbs for push ups with feet elevated a meter, lowering upper chest to floor. That got to be a pain in the a$$ though.

tyler
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:24 pm

Post by tyler » Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:31 am

TimD wrote:Tyler, most dip belts I've seen at commercial gyms are made of tough leathe (as in a weight lifting belt} along with a heavy link chain. If you are using 65 lbs currently, I'd say don't woory about it. At home, I just use my dog's leash, which is a medium weight chain, and I've used up to 100 lbs with it and have had no problems. That crazy pit bull I have has been tied off with it (he weighs a good 70 lbs) and even with a running start (which I discourage and will never let happen again) can't budge it. Don't woory about it.
Tim
Hehe...funny. Only one thing though, they aren't the leather belts, the black nylon ones or whatever.

tyler
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:24 pm

Post by tyler » Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:32 am

Ironman wrote:I just use a regular belt, a big one for fatties. It's too big to hold up my pants so I have to do something with it. I've used up to 30 lbs for dips, which is a lot when combined with 210 to 215 lbs of me. I've used 60 lbs for push ups with feet elevated a meter, lowering upper chest to floor. That got to be a pain in the a$$ though.
Yea that push up thing sounds like more trouble than its worth...

pdellorto
Deific Wizard of Sagacity
Deific Wizard of Sagacity
Posts: 5252
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:43 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by pdellorto » Sat Sep 22, 2007 7:31 am

Ironman, where did you put the weight for the pushups? Strapped to your back, or dangling down?

User avatar
Ironman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3992
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:40 am

Post by Ironman » Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:23 pm

Strapped to my back. I would lay down on it, buckle it, then hold it up with one hand while I get up. Then I bend over a bit so it is resting on my back. It was a good exercise and looked impressive, but it was a pain getting into position. So I just started doing more incline dumbbell bench.

ironmaiden708
moderator
moderator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:27 am
Location: Kibbutz Ketura

Post by ironmaiden708 » Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:25 am

If you have access to a weightlifting buddy, have him put the plate on your back and have him hold it into position during your 'set'. Its fun when he's doing it with a 100lb plate....

tyler
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:24 pm

Post by tyler » Thu Sep 27, 2007 3:34 pm

ironmaiden708 wrote:If you have access to a weightlifting buddy, have him put the plate on your back and have him hold it into position during your 'set'. Its fun when he's doing it with a 100lb plate....
Why not just bench press instead?

ironmaiden708
moderator
moderator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:27 am
Location: Kibbutz Ketura

Post by ironmaiden708 » Thu Sep 27, 2007 6:23 pm

You gotta mix things up once in a while


Post Reply