Stiffness from resistance training

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

bob

Stiffness from resistance training

Post by bob » Sat May 03, 2008 8:50 pm

I've been lifting for the past year-free weights and machines and i find that i'm very stiff. A few weeks ago, i went to the driving range with my neighbor and i couldn't believe how stiff i was.I don't feel sore, just tight. I could barely bring the golf club back. Before i started lifting, i had a much better range of motion. Does resistance training shorten the muscles or tighten up the ligaments and tendons? Are there any resistance exercises i can do which also incorporate some stretching and flexibility to save time at the gym?

Ironman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ironman » Sat May 03, 2008 10:27 pm

I would say it is a completely unrelated problem. You might want to check with a doctor.

Scott Ismari
Novice
Novice

Post by Scott Ismari » Sun May 04, 2008 9:22 am

sounds to me that you might need to incorperate stretching moves into your routine after you work out or in between sets. This keeps the body limber thru its natural ROM (range of motion). Just make sure you are warmed up before you stretch and never use ballistic (bouncing) moves, instead use static (slow non bouncing) stretches. I bet after a week or so your full ROM will return.

Kenny Croxdale
Powerlifting Ninja
Powerlifting Ninja

Re: Stiffness from resistance training

Post by Kenny Croxdale » Sun May 04, 2008 10:09 am