Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

rusky
n00b
n00b

obliques symmetry question

Post by rusky » Mon May 05, 2008 9:49 pm

Hi everyone,

I have an imbalance in my obliques. The left side is slightly smaller then the right. So my question is how do I fix that? How do I isolate the left oblique, what exercise would do that?

I have a sneaking suspicion that it's impossible to isolate one side of the obliques. If that's true then what would place more relative intensity on the left side?

Thanks you, I appreciate your replies.

brook011
Associate Member
Associate Member

Post by brook011 » Mon May 05, 2008 10:17 pm

http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Obl ... eBend.html

I do that, and for flair, I put my arm on my other side like a teapot ;)

Stephen Johnson
Exalted Seer
Exalted Seer

Re: obliques symmetry question

Post by Stephen Johnson » Mon May 05, 2008 10:37 pm

rusky wrote:Hi everyone,

I have an imbalance in my obliques. The left side is slightly smaller then the right. So my question is how do I fix that? How do I isolate the left oblique, what exercise would do that?

I have a sneaking suspicion that it's impossible to isolate one side of the obliques. If that's true then what would place more relative intensity on the left side?

Thanks you, I appreciate your replies.
The old symmetry bugaboo.

Contrary to popular opinion, few (if any) people are perfectly symmetrical. Unless there is a glaring difference between one side and the other, it is much ado about nothing.

In all likelihood, you are right handed and use your right side more, which is why your left side is slightly smaller.

The key to bringing a weak side up is to do the same number of reps, sets and weights for both sides, stopping exercise when the weaker side tires. Eventually, the two sides will be closer in appearance. But they might never be exactly the same.

As for exercises, try these: