Simple, Functional, Power Exercises?

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

RogerWilson
former lurker

Simple, Functional, Power Exercises?

Post by RogerWilson » Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:09 pm

I've been working out regularly for about 6 months. I've gotten great advice from the ExRx website and these forums. I normally do a push/pull routine where I do cardio two or three days a week for 30 min and then on the alternating days do either a push/pull for two to three days a week.

I don't care about raw numbers. My goal is to be strong because it makes my job a lot easier. The work I do is prone to a lot of back and shoulder injuries. Things that are career enders for a lot of people.

I've started to look into some other alternatives to the isolated strength exercises. Yeah, things like the bench press does a good job of building pec strength, but that in and of itself isn't going to do a lot for me.

What I want to do is find some good, compound type exercises that are just good, hardcore, old fashioned strongman type exercises. Things like the farmer carry, dead lift etc.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where to look?

brook011
Associate Member
Associate Member

Post by brook011 » Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:21 pm

Pullups or Chinups. Deadlifts. Squats. Overhead/Military/Push Press. And yeah of course, bench press. Isolation usually is not going to = strength, especially 6 months into a program. There are some tagged routines for strength on the top of this forum, pick one and stick to it.

TimD
In Memoriam: TimD

Post by TimD » Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:47 pm

Bryce Lane's home page is full of that old fashioned strongman stuff.
http:// www.ironsports.tv
He has a forum too. Should be linked from his home page. Lots of stuff with barrels, kegs, 1 and 2 arm O lifting with BBs and DB's.
Tim

Stephen Johnson
Exalted Seer
Exalted Seer

Post by Stephen Johnson » Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:11 pm