Biceps Question

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

mattk25
Rookie
Rookie

Biceps Question

Post by mattk25 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:46 pm

Hey my name is Matt and I'm a newbie! I have a question, I've been working out about 4 times a week since July. In that time I've seen alot of improvement in strength in all muscle groups, except my biceps. I'm still lifting about the same amount of weight for biceps exercises that I started with. Any idea why, I'm not seeing an improvement in strength for biceps? Thanks!

hoosegow
Veteren Member
Veteren Member

Post by hoosegow » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:54 pm

They are probably exausted by the time you get to them. Don't do specific arm work. If you row, they are getting plenty of work already. I don't do arm work unless I am bored and just want to hang out at the gym on an off day after cardio.

stuward

Post by stuward » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:56 pm

They're also a small muscle group. Most of your strength gains will be in the larger muscle groups.

Alfred
n00b
n00b

Post by Alfred » Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:51 pm

I respectfully disagree with hoosegow. People who start isolating their arms will start getting much bigger arms much faster. Rows do very little for your biceps or arms in general,the only pulling movement with hope of transfer is the pull-up or chins. I would advice against dumbbell curls because there can be some leverage differences each time you lift; this time you may have the weight positioned so or so way etc. without realizing and with such a delicate move, small weight differences can throw you off. So I would say use the barbell. And do not cheat; cheating will cause imbalanced if any decent strength development and your strict curls may sadly stay the same.

Maybe if you could describe your routine it might help us make sense of your problem.

KPj
Deific Wizard of Sagacity

Post by KPj » Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:38 pm