Tim Donahay Youtube Site..

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

wilburburns

Tim Donahay Youtube Site..

Post by wilburburns » Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:09 am

I think Peter was the one who first pointed me to the Tim Donahay Youtube Site for the Mark Rippetoe Instructional Videos. Thanks Peter.

However, I see he has posted a couple of new videos in the last few days, which I don't understand.

IE: HOW NOT TO DO THE POWER CLEAN

I'm new to actually doing this lift, therefore, I don't see what is being done wrong. Can someone explain what is wrong in this video.

The only thing I "think" I see wrong is that he doesn't seem to have a powerful Shrug/Pull from the Shoulders and upper back. It appears as most of the Power is coming from the initial Leg Drive.

Thanks,
Cliff

daniel4738

Re: Tim Donahay Youtube Site..

Post by daniel4738 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:37 am

wilburburns wrote:I think Peter was the one who first pointed me to the Tim Donahay Youtube Site for the Mark Rippetoe Instructional Videos. Thanks Peter.

However, I see he has posted a couple of new videos in the last few days, which I don't understand.

IE: HOW NOT TO DO THE POWER CLEAN

I'm new to actually doing this lift, therefore, I don't see what is being done wrong. Can someone explain what is wrong in this video.

The only thing I "think" I see wrong is that he doesn't seem to have a powerful Shrug/Pull from the Shoulders and upper back. It appears as most of the Power is coming from the initial Leg Drive.

Thanks,
Cliff
A power clean is supposed to be a powerful movement, an explosive drive of the hips, through the feet, lifgting with the shoulders and finally snapping underneath the bar.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6TlbDQUWs0s

This video is a very good instructional video for the power clean.

The guy in the video is doing the movement slowly enough for it to be a strength movement. he doesn't look comfortable.

ellerbus
Apprentice