Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

ScubaDiver
n00b
n00b

Eating before early morning workout

Post by ScubaDiver » Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:57 pm

Hello all,

I am very new at this so please bear with me.

I have been doing a circuit type workout for weight loss for the past month when I get home after work.

My work schedule just changed so I am now getting up at 5:00 AM and doing my work out before I go to work.

The problem is that I don't eat anything before my work out.

I have been reading that not eating before a work out is bad.

Everything that I read says that I need to eat something 45 min to 1 hour before working out, but I can't swing it, I don't want to get up at 4:00 AM to eat.

What is the absolute minimum I could get away with and not do my body any harm.

Can I just chug a protein shake and get cracking within 15 minutes?

I still have lots of weight to lose, so maybe it's ok since I have reserves LOL.

Thanks for your help

tostig
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by tostig » Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:07 pm

A guy at work made the mistake of not eating one morning before working out. He blacked out because of lack of glucose.

There should be no excuse for not eating with everything available. There's cold cereal, toast, juice, yogurt, etc. Remember, Rocky ate raw eggs.

If you must demand to eat the minimum, then go ahead and test yourself to see how far you can go before starting to get dizzy or spent.

ScubaDiver
n00b
n00b

Post by ScubaDiver » Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:20 pm

It's not that I don't want to eat.

It's just that I don't have time to let an hour pass after eating before my workout.

What I am wondering is would it be just as effective if I eat something lite like a protein shake and fruit and then start working out immediately or is that just useless because it the nutrients haven't been digested.

Thanks

pdellorto
Deific Wizard of Sagacity
Deific Wizard of Sagacity