Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward, jethrof

neal
Rookie
Rookie

My program, opinions?

Post by neal » Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:43 pm

Hello all,

I've been looking at exrx.net now for quite sometime and have been a lurker in the forums.

I've gotten to the point in my workouts that I am not sure about what to do and thus I figured I would bounce it off y'all and get your inputs in any.

Here are some stats...

I am 6'2"

In July 2009 I weighed 350 lbs. I started a half-hearted attempt to lose weight then.. In January I started in earnest and now I am at about 285 lbs and 27% BF.

I started out just performing cadio then I realized that my company paid for a wellness program which included a gym membership. So I did some fitness assessments and got a workout prescription. So I started lifting weights along with the cardio (I haven't lifted weights in about 12 years since I played football in HS). That was about 4 months ago. I started with a total body program which involved about 15 machines 60% of 1 RM for 15 reps two days a week. Eventually I moved up to three days a week and just in the last two weeks I changed to a push pull program going four days a week.

Now I have read lots of places about moving away from machines and getting into free weights, I decided to make that transition slowly where I think it is safe...

Goals:

#1 15-18% BF
#2 Decent upper body strength (really lack it)

And I see weight lifting right now as just another way to burn calories, also I started lifting weights just to tell my body "Hey, you might want to keep that..."

Here's what I do now...
Cadio -- 3 or 4 days on, 1 day off. 50 minutes on an elliptical trainer in the morning.

Warm up for weights, either treadmill (about 25 minutes) or elliptical (about 15 minutes).

Pull days. 3X10 (targeting 3X12 if I get there, increase weight by 5lbs for upper, 10 lbs for lower)
Lat Pull Down (life fitness machine)