Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

KenDowns
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Coffee?

Post by KenDowns » Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:32 pm

I've got a question about coffee.

Being a complete beginner, and one of those guys who never had to worry about what he ate, you can safely assume that if its bad for you I've done it or am still doing it. I understand that a true health-oriented lifting program is going to change diet and rest, but the sheer volume of changes I seem to need to make is making my head spin, so I'm trying to start with specifics.

I suspect I drink way too much coffee.

This starts with an ongoing debate between myself and my wife. She is a Physician and as much a Type-A go-go-go person as you'll ever meet. She is always quoting studies saying coffee is nothing but good. I joke with her that she sounds like Freud talking about Cocaine. (In fact she just walked by and joked she is probably rationalizing her own coffee drinking). But the fact is she is the only expert I know.

I used to drink 6-10 cups of coffee a day. I "dropped" to four in the morning and one at night. Given how important rest and diet are, I wonder if coffee is suppressing my appetite and reducing the benefits of sleep.

Any opinions?

nygmen

Post by nygmen » Sun Nov 21, 2010 1:20 pm

Coffee is a gift from a higher power, its only rival is Diet Coke.

Stephen Johnson
Exalted Seer
Exalted Seer

Re: Coffee?

Post by Stephen Johnson » Sun Nov 21, 2010 1:32 pm

KenDowns wrote:I used to drink 6-10 cups of coffee a day. I "dropped" to four in the morning and one at night. Given how important rest and diet are, I wonder if coffee is suppressing my appetite and reducing the benefits of sleep.

Any opinions?
I suspect that the effect of coffee is idiosyncratic for many people - we aren't all made from the same cookie cutter.