Give Blood?

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, jethrof, parth, stuward

KenDowns
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Give Blood?

Post by KenDowns » Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:56 pm

I've always given blood once/twice a year, but have not done so since I started lifting.

What are the implications for the lifting schedule. I can guess I would not go from the blood center to the gym, but after that? One day off? Two? Three?

hoosegow
Veteren Member
Veteren Member

Post by hoosegow » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:05 pm

I've done it same day.

Stephen Johnson
Exalted Seer
Exalted Seer

Re: Give Blood?

Post by Stephen Johnson » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:17 pm

KenDowns wrote:I've always given blood once/twice a year, but have not done so since I started lifting.

What are the implications for the lifting schedule. I can guess I would not go from the blood center to the gym, but after that? One day off? Two? Three?
You might want to take it easy for a couple of days if you give blood during extremely hot or cold weather. But other than that, there should be no problem.

Good for you for giving blood. Not only are you doing the public good, but you might also be helping yourself:
It only takes about an hour out of your busy schedule and it may save a life. Donating blood may not only benefit the person who received the blood cells but may also improve the health of the donor. What are the
potential health benefits of donating blood?

While the most obvious health benefit of donating blood is the wonderful feeling derived from giving something vital to someone who needs it, the benefits of donating blood may extend far beyond this to having a positive impact on the donor's health.