Creatine

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

Velcropop
Apprentice
Apprentice

Creatine

Post by Velcropop » Fri Apr 08, 2011 1:05 am

So I've decided to start using Creatine to see what kind of results I can get out of it (I've never used it before). I have a couple of questions for any of you who either use creatine or are more knowledgeable on the subject.

My own research has indicated that:

1) It is debatable whether or not you need a loading phase. If I were to Do What It Says On The Box then I would have a loading phase, but of course supplement manufacturers are going to want you to load, you intake 100g+ in the first week alone. Some research indicates it doesn't make much of a difference but there seems to be evidence (anecdotal or otherwise) of the benefits of loading.

2) There's a question of how much is sufficient to produce results. The stuff I bought recommends 20g/d for a week loading and 5g/d maintenance. I've read elsewhere that 20g/d for 5 days is sufficient for loading and 10g/d for maintenance. I even recall a schedule that called for 30g/d for 4 or 5 days loading and then 15/5g/d on off/on days.

3) Finally, how long should you use creatine for, i.e. what kind of schedule gives you best mileage and value for money. Most sources seem to recommend a 4-week cycle with 2-3 weeks off. I've see an 8 week cycle recommended and I've seen shorter cycles recommend with more frequent, although shorter, breaks. (The product I have makes no recommendation as to schedule/cycling.)

The short of it all is that the information out there is conflicting. Usually when that is the case I turn to the trusty ExRx fellowship for it's opinion.

Cheers

Kenny Croxdale
Powerlifting Ninja
Powerlifting Ninja

Re: Creatine

Post by Kenny Croxdale » Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:43 am