program complete?

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, jethrof, stuward, parth

ernstlenzer
Rookie
Rookie

program complete?

Post by ernstlenzer » Tue Jun 07, 2011 6:48 am

I've been working out for about 9 months now. Mostly isolation exercises, because they're much easier and I still got considerable gain from it. But now I want to try a program based on mostly compound exercises, as that's supposedly much better.

I plan on doing squats, pull ups, deadlifts, bench presses and shoulder press. And just do 10 sets of 10 reps with the highest possible weight. I read that doing 10 sets helps a lot because the body really recruits all muscle fibers (German Volume Training).

My questions:
1. Are those 5 exercises sufficient for a complete program or am I missing something?
2. Are you supposed to do deadlifts and squats or do you just pick one, because they mostly train the same muscles?

Also general opinions about this plan would be helpful.

Thanks

Higgy
Rookie
Rookie

Re: program complete?

Post by Higgy » Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:32 am

I would suggest a good beginner 5x5 program. Either Starting Strength (SS) or Strong Lifts (SL). As for the question about squats and deadlift, they are both excellent compound lifts. I prefer to do deadlifts only once a week and for only 1x5 and every 3rd week do 5x5. They seem to tax me more then squats. Other exercise to consider are pushups and bentover BB rows.

stuward

Post by stuward » Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:25 am

ernstlenzer wrote:I've been working out for about 9 months now. Mostly isolation exercises, because they're much easier and I still got considerable gain from it. But now I want to try a program based on mostly compound exercises, as that's supposedly much better.