Training at Home + Soccer Workout

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward, jethrof

ephs

Training at Home + Soccer Workout

Post by ephs » Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:27 pm

hey,

first: this page is really awesome. thanks to everyone who contributed to it.

i got 2 questions:

1) i've been training for a few years and i'm planning to invest in a home gym. but i dont know how to combine hamstrings training + erectus spinae training. i only see the possibility of leg curl on ball for hamstrings + single leg split squat for quadriceps with db. are there any other possibilities to train the hamstrings so that i can do db squats for quadriceps?

2) i'm planing to adjust my workout to my soccer training. i have soccer training every tuesday and thursday and a game on every sunday. on which days should i do strength training and which type (full body/split?)

thank you.

greetings,

bastian

jtw
Apprentice
Apprentice

Re: Training at Home + Soccer Workout

Post by jtw » Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:54 pm

1 - Good Mornings, straight-leg deadlift work both the hamstrings and erector. "Leg curl on ball" and "db squats?" Seriously? Use a barbell, and *never* use a ball for strength training.

2. It's tough to balance strength training while in season for your sport. Most people focus on maintenance but if you are young and strong you may be able to manage. Generally a full-body routine would be best for someone in your position but it depends on your schedule and recovery times.

ephs

Post by ephs » Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:02 pm

jtw wrote:1 - Good Mornings, straight-leg deadlift work both the hamstrings and erector. "Leg curl on ball" and "db squats?" Seriously? Use a barbell, and *never* use a ball for strength training.