Deadlift

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward

teafan
Apprentice
Apprentice

Deadlift

Post by teafan » Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:42 am

I've been running 531 on deadlifts for a few months now - felt they were going pretty well until today when I asked the bodybuilder behind the counter for his opinion on my form:

He says: "your form isnt good"

He was trying to show me "how" to do it and was keeping his back almost perpendicular to the floor and arching his back at the peak of the move. I shove my butt out and tilt from the hips, keeping a neutral spine (as far as i can tell), and lean forwards a lot more than her does (I'd say I lean as much as the demonstration guy: http://exrx.net/WeightExercises/Gluteus ... dlift.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;). I certainbly dont hyperextend my back at the top, either. He says that this is dangerous because it puts all the load on your lower back.

He also said of me lifting 105kg (thats at 6 foot 2 and 90kg/200lb - I was only on my first set too!) that it was really heavy for someone my size.

I kind of already know that he was talking poo poo, but the sweat and heartbeats made me listen at the time... I thought I'd run the scenario past you guys and see what you think?

Dub
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

Re: Deadlift

Post by Dub » Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:05 am

Well one thing I'm sure of is that the sentence "lifting xkg is really heavy for someone your size." Is utterly stupid. Especially when you're not small at all. I weight almost 20kg less than you, and I'm somewhere along 5 foot eleven tall, and I can easily DL over a 100kg. Why would he even say something like that?