Abs - Question about definition, and my abs specifically

Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward, jethrof

Dissident
Rookie
Rookie

Abs - Question about definition, and my abs specifically

Post by Dissident » Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:01 pm

I've been working out for 4 or 5 months now and I had a question relating to abs. I've switched up between a couple different ab routines and for the past few months the only ab exercise i've been doing is the Hammer Strength ab crunch machine (up to 130 lbs doing 12,11, and 9 reps).
My abs have been showing wierd properties though.
First question: my lower abs are not showing much definition, What exercises can I do on top of my currents to bring out definition in my lower abs more?
Secondly: On my left side the definition in my upper abs is great but on my right it seems like the 2 muscles are not there, it seems like they're joined into just one. What would cause this, and what kind of things can I do to bring out definition in my right side more?

Thanks in advance,
-Matt J.

Dissident
Rookie
Rookie

P.S.

Post by Dissident » Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:02 pm

P.S. the ab machine I use is a lot like this one

http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Rec ... runch.html

Stephen Johnson
Exalted Seer
Exalted Seer

Post by Stephen Johnson » Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:22 pm

1 - There is an inverse relationship between your bodyfat percentage and your definition. The more defined you are, the lower your bodyfat percentage. You have to get your bodyfat to single digits to see really sharp definition.

2 - Unfortunately, body fat storage can be idiosyncratic - many people have "problem areas" that resist efforts to lose bodyfat, and "success areas" that shed fat easily. It sounds as if your lower abs are a problem area for you - they stubbornly hold on to fat.

3 - You've omitted info about your non-ab weight training, cardio and diet. An oversight?

pdellorto
Deific Wizard of Sagacity