Ask or answer questions, discuss and express your views

Moderators: Ironman, Jungledoc, parth, stuward, jethrof

swhitbur
n00b
n00b

Exercise Induced sweet taste

Post by swhitbur » Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:39 pm

Hello,
I have been doing strength training at my local Y for several months now. As I have been increasing my weights and intensity on exercises I have noticed an interesting phenomena. It mainly happens when I am doing leg extensions and also when doing leg presses. For leg extensions, after a good warm up, if I do a hard set at around 220Lb for 10-15 reps to failure, immediately after stopping I get a very sweet taste on my breath. It seems to be coming from my lungs, no reflux going on. Other than my legs being exhausted I have no other discomfort. Just a strange sweet taste. It's kind of become the measure of when I know I have really pushed it to failure. Is this normal?
Curious
Thanks
swhitbur

Dib
n00b
n00b

Post by Dib » Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:10 pm

Sounds almost as if it could be ketosis but why???

Jungle Doc, any comments?

Ironman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ironman » Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:36 am

I was thinking ketosis too. It could be you have used up your your glycogen and your just kind of using the fat stores. Do you get real shaky too? That's what usually happens when you have depleted your glycogen. That's just speculation though.

Jungledoc

Post by Jungledoc » Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:28 am

Yeah, I think so too. OP, can you reproduce this with any other exercises? I assume that it would have to be fairly big, energy-costly exercises. Do you eat or drink anything in the several hours prior to working out? Are you on a very low carbohydrate diet?

Can you eliminate this by eating/drinking carbs? Try using some carbs just before and/or during the workout, and see if it still happens.